James F. Byrnes
High School AFJROTC

The purpose of the SC-932 AFJROTC program is to develop citizens of character dedicated to serving their nation and community. The mission of the AFJROTC instructor team is to provide a framework to fulfill this purpose by helping high school students develop leadership skills, self-discipline, teamwork, and citizenship. A strong objective of the Air Force and of James F. Byrnes High School is to instill class and excellence in each cadet. The program greatly promotes community service, education excellence, fitness, and personal development for success. All of these aspects exist to create an environment centered at providing each individual cadet with a lifetime of memories and valuable experiences. Admirable attributes and skills that only a leader possesses will aid, build character, and lead each individual to a promising and fulfilling future.

Missions And Objectives




March 2015 Cadets of the Month

Alpha:                                      Hotel

Bravo:                                      India

Delta:                                       Juliet

Echo​:                                         Kilo

Foxtrot:                                    Lima

 Stay informed with the weekly Cliff letter to find out about upcoming events and the uniform wear


Air Force Junior Reserve Training Corps (AFJROTC) was founded under Public Law 88-647, called the ROTC Vitalization Act of 1964. SC-932 at James F. Byrnes High School was established in July 1993. The designation SC-932 indicates that our unit was the second AFJROTC program approved for South Carolina in 1993.

The Cadet Corps 



Activity Announcements

Upcoming activities

Keep up to date with the corps' upcoming activities and events! 

Drill Team 

Drill Team practice is held on Mondays and Thursday from 3:45 to 5:00 at Byrnes Freshman Academy. For more information contact c/Maj Issac Bennett or c/Maj Hannah Yeargain.


  • Flight Com. Meetings on Wednesdays 1545-1600
  • Rocketry Club Meeting on Tuesday from 1540-1700
  • Model Club Meeting on Wednesday from 1540-1700


Uniform Wear for 15 April 15 is Class C Modified. Pass In Review Practice for Flight Commanders on Wednesday 1545 to 1700